Home > Radio > Back Garden UKAC

Back Garden UKAC

July 11, 2011

I have been active mostly on HF recently, but the VHF NFD re-ignited my interest in the higher bands, so I decided to put up a very temporary antenna and make a few contacts in the RSGB 144MHz UKAC contest last week, just for fun. I used to take part in the RSGB Backpackers contests a few years ago, so I dusted off the 6m aluminium mast but couldn’t find my portable 9 element Tonna antenna for 2m, so I decided to put together the 2m halo antenna I’d had for years and never used.

I got everything together, with the help of some cable ties and tape, connected the Yaesu FT-897 on the garden table and … it started to absolutely poor with rain. I did manage a few brief contacts while the rain was running down my neck but I quickly decided to give up and try again another day. It was fun, but maybe more fun next time.

Update … I had another go tonight for the RSGB 432MHz UKAC. I put my very small 70cm beam on the mast, got the radio out and … it rained again. I’m sure the RSGB are working with the Met Office to co-ordinate contests and weather !

Maybe next time.

Categories: Radio Tags:
